Blog #1

10 Essential Tips for Meeting Tech Needs of Low-Income Schools

The article, 10 Essential Tips for Meeting Tech Needs of Low-Income Schools, discusses how educators, of low-income schools, can learn about technology and help students understand and engage more in their learning experience. Encompass Academy, an elementary school, in one of the most poverty stricken neighborhoods, has now developed a learning program with different types of technology used. Nguyen, the principal of Encompass Academy, gives readers ten tips to keep in mind when trying to include technology in the classroom. She wants educators to make sure that they keep their school’s mission in mind, to complement the lessons learned, not replacing them with technology, involving parents and families, make sure the school is supporting teachers and giving them the professional development they need, have other teachers use the technology with some students when the teacher is busy working with students who need more one-on-one time, and teachers can use the new learned technology to track their students data and progress. The last three tips from Nguyen, are to help teachers understand that the technology can show excellence, not just achievement, and to build relationships with the companies, they can better help the school’s needs. Overall, the article was given to educators to understand how to engage their technology into the classroom where it will be fun and helpful for both the students and the teachers.

Q1. What is your opinion of the issue in the article? Agree or disagree? Why?

I really enjoyed reading this article, it helped me understand different ways you can use technology in the classroom. The technology can not only be used with the students but it can be used for teachers to make data of the student’s progress. I agree that technology should be imbedded in daily classroom activities, if it is used properly. I believe this should be done because it will help students learn the material in a different way and it gives students knowledge of different technology.

Q2. How will the issue help or hinder your teaching practice? Why?

This article will help me in my teaching practice because it gives me ways to include technology into the classroom and it also gives me tips on what I have to keep in mind when using the technology in my classroom. I think this article gave me a new way on looking at the usage of technology in the classroom because I now know that technology can be useful in learning, not just for entertainment.

Q3. How will the issue affect your relationship with your students, parents, colleagues, and/or principals?

I think the usage of technology will help me interact more with my students and parents. Using technology in the classroom will help me get a better outlook on my student’s progress and it will teach me the different ways that my students like to be taught the material. With my parents, I can use technology to make homework more enjoyable and the parents will interact more with their kids, which will then they may share their experiences with me. I can also use technology to keep in contact with my parents rather than over the phone or in person.

Q4. How will the issue help or hinder student learning?

The use of technology will help students have a more hands-on learning experience, expanding their knowledge and involvement with their schoolwork. It will teach them how to use different technology, learn material in more than just one way, and make learning fun. I do not think the use of technology would hinder any students learning.

Leave a Reply

